Pruning


image

He cuts off every branch in me that bears no fruit, while every branch that does bear fruit he prunes so that it will be even more fruitful. John 15:2

My roses are gorgeous this year but they did not come without a high cost.  

We had unusually warm temps in late February and my rose bush started showing lots of new growth.

It was too early because our normal cold temps were going to return.

If they new growth continued the coming cold temps would kill all the tender growth.

I had to prune back the bush, effectively cutting off all the new growth. 

When my husband saw how much I had pruned back the rose bush he was quite surprised. I told him the bush would either die or flourish, it was in God’s hands. If I hadn’t pruned it, it wouldn’t have bloomed at all in the spring.

Sometimes God has to prune us too. 

I was very busy doing lots of things for God, all good things, but I was neglecting my home and husband. 

Not fully committing anyone thing and spreading myself very thin.

I don’t think God causes sickness in our lives but rather he allows it for his purpose. 

In Aug 2013,  I started to have no energy, tired all the time and getting sick very easily. Finally in Dec 2013 I was diagnosed with an Immune Deficiency. 

Suddenly,  I needed to stop all my volunteering. I had to avoid any situation where I would be exposed to germs because I had almost no immune system. 

God drastically pruned my life. 

The only volunteer position I held onto  was with Proverbs 31 Online Bible Study. Something I still do today. 

Once I started treatment and began to feel better I prayed about and added a few things back. 

Today, I am doing less but flourishing more. God is blooming me where I am. 

I never would have thought that I could have a positive influence on people who I’ve never met face to face but I am through Facebook and Proverbs 31 Online Bible Study. 

I never dreamed I’d be writing a blog and starting a book but I am. If I had stayed busy I might have missed Gods voice and leading in my life. 

The pruning was painful but the end result is so worth it!

The invitation for me was to slow down, let go and trust God.

The destination has been to do more by committing to less. 

How has God grown you through His pruning?

Leave a Reply

