What was meant for evil…..

Me and my sweet Alma in Sept 2003
Me and my sweet Alma in Sept 2003
Me and Alma  Christmas 1997
Me and Alma Christmas 1997

Genesis 50:20 (NIV) says:

“You intended to harm me, but God intended it for good to accomplish what is now being done, the saving of many lives.”

So many things happen in our lives that, at the time, are just plain not good. Either by our own choice or as the result of choices others have made. People often lament, how can God let this happen?, how come he didn’t prevent this awful thing from happening? I think the answer is pretty clear. God loves us so much that he gives us free will to choose what path we want to take. Sometimes we choose the right path but more often we choose the wrong path because we are born with a selfish, sinful nature. When we make those choices we often don’t give a thought to how our choices will affect others. Sadly, we sometimes do think of how our choices will affect others but due to weakness in our own flesh we make the wrong choice anyway. We feel anger, guilt, remorse and wonder ‘how could I have made such wrong choices?’

Despite the bad choices we make God can bring good out of it. I think of my own sinful past. The choices I made that have affected those I love. Specially my sweet daughter. I made some really bad choices when she was growing up-they affected her ability to function during her first year in college. She was suffering from post traumatic stress, from her teen years, and didn’t even know it. It caused my high honors girl to fail several of her classes at George Washington University, that led to her losing her scholarship.

This seemed like a really dark time but she then moved to live with her dad and amazing step mother in Memphis and  enrolled in the University of Memphis. She did very well there and met the man that she would later marry.

When she moved to Memphis it was so hard for me. I prayed to God to put a man in her life that would love and take care of her and he did. She met and married an amazing man. He has loved her, protected her and taken good care of her. She got her degree from the University of Memphis and, I am told, recently graduated Quinnipac Law School  and passed the CT bar on her first try. I know she is practicing Law to help others. Even though I messed up really badly, God brought good in my daughter’s life.

I said I was told of her graduating Quinnipac Law School  because, sadly, because she had some repressed memories, that affected her health, she decided in Aug 2009 she needed to step away from our relationship for a time.  Written words were misinterpreted through a hurting hearts and she has yet to speak to me. During this time I’ve gone through a grieving process that has caused me to grow into a deep relationship with my Abba Father, for me that is that good that God has given me. God has given me a heart to love and serve others, he has taken the mess of my choices and given me a message to share with others. Although this is a very difficult time, to not hear my sweet daughters voice in over 5 1/2 years, I know that God will bring more good from it. I have tried to reconcile and have needed to let go and let God work in the unseen world.

Matthew 19:26(NIV) says:

Jesus looked at them and said, “With man this is impossible but with God ALL things are possible.”

I believe God’s word is true and I cling to this promise. In my own power reconciliation is impossible but with God it is possible. For now, I will trust and obey for there is no other way for me to live.

Is there an area in your life that seems really dark but you are trusting God to bring good?

6 thoughts on “What was meant for evil…..

  1. Nancy, thank you. I know what strength it took to put this out there for other’s to see, and I also know that it is part of your healing to be able to do so. I am glad to know that you are updated at least on how she is doing, that must help some.
    My heart breaks for you as I am learning now what it is like to set a child completely free and not know if there will ever be a time when he will return. But I do know that I trust God with all my being, and I do know that he is watching over my son and granddaughters. My son knows my love for him and his daughters will never change, but I have left this situation in God’s hands.
    Thank you for reminding me that God will turn this mess into a blessing somehow.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Rosemary….we have so much in common! We serve an awesome God that is in the business of reconciliation. It’s sounds so easy to say “all we need to do is trust and obey” but, for me at least, I need to remind myself daily that there is a God and it’s not me. It’s a daily letting go and letting God do what He does best and knowing and trusting that He only wants good for us. 🙂
      Praying for you and your relationship with you son!!
      Love you sweet sister!!

      Like

    1. Hi Kelly, thank you for your kind words on encouragement! I was traveling yesterday and some airports were more friendly than others with the wifi! I’m sorry I wasn’t able to respond until today!

      I will be posting another blog in a little while and would like to know if there is still time for the blog link up today? I am very new to writing but am encouraged by the comments made by the few that do see my blog 😉

      Will be subscribing your blog today!

      God bless you!!

      Like

Leave a Reply

