I got the G.P.S.

I love the Pixar movie “Cars” it’s a fun movie with some obvious and some not so obvious life lessons. It’s about a car in a BIG race that thinks he has won-He pridefully drives through the winners banner on stage only to hear the announcer announce it was a three way tie! Talk about being embarrassed!

For everything in the world—the lust of the flesh, the lust of the eyes, and the pride of life—comes not from the Father but from the world. 1 John 2:16

The winner will be crowned at a race in California. There is a big rush to get there so they can smooze with the big advertiser. Lightning McQueen, our little  prideful car, pushes Mack, his trusty transport truck, to leave right away, despite being tired. During the trip, Mack gets lulled to sleep by some mischievious cars that lead him astray.

“Why are you sleeping?” he asked them. “Get up and pray so that you will not fall into temptation.”    Luke 22:46

Lightning McQueen ends up rolling out the back of the truck and gets lost. He has no lights because he is a race car and depends on the lights in the stadium. He has depended on others to light his way so he is now stumbling in the dark.

Then Jesus told them, “You are going to have the light just a little while longer. Walk while you have the light, before darkness overtakes you. Whoever walks in the dark does not know where they are going. John 12:35

In the dark, normal things often scare us that wouldn’t scare us if we were in the light. He ends up ripping up the road. He’s in BIG trouble and his punishment is to repair the road. He eventually finds his way through new found friends in “Radiator Springs”.

God uses the most unusal cars to bring him back into the light.

In one portion of the movie, as Lightning McQueen is repairing the road  two cars come by. Everyone gets excited because they will have customers but at last they are just lost. The “wife” car tells the “husband” car to ask for directions. His answer is “I don’t need to ask for directions, I have the GPS”.

This is what the Lord Almighty says: “Do not listen to what the prophets are prophesying to you; they fill you with false hopes. They speak visions from their own minds, not from the mouth of the Lord. Jeremiah 23:16

Meanwhile Lightning McQueen is shouting for help because he is stuck in Hillbilly H$ll and because the car couple is so lost instead of helping they roll away as fast as possible.  After all, they have “the GPS”.

Isn’t it like so many people-they try to do things on their own, relying on things that obviously don’t work but so trusting  those things that they do not know how absolutely lost they are.

Those who trust in themselves are fools, but those who walk in wisdom are kept safe. Proverbs28:26

Also, because they are so lost they can’t be of service to anyone else either.

I am so grateful that I have THE GPS-God’s Perfect Solution! The Bible gives me answers to all my questions and HIS word never fails me.

Trust in the Lord with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding; in all your ways submit to him, and he will make your paths straight. Proverbs 3:5-6 

Because I have HIS Word and follow its wisdom with the aid of the Holy Spirit that lives in me, I am able to be of service to others and I can lead them to the very same GPS that I am able to live by.

I love acrostics, I am a very visual person and often need easy reminders to help me learn things. I’ve been told that BIBLE stands for Basic Instructions Before Leaving Earth. As I walk closer and closer with Jesus everyday I find its so much more than “basic” instructions. To me the Bible is the gateway to eternal life. Without the God inspired Words in the Bible I can not live a life on earth that reflects all that He created me to be. Without the Bible I am just rolling around in the dark totally lost. Without these God inspired words I remain lost.

I am so grateful that I live by God’s Perfect Solution. It’s my heart’s desire that you learn to live by this GPS-God’s Perfect Solution-you won’t regret it. Got questions? I know where to point you to find the solution!

Sharing this on http://purposefulfaith.com/when-issues-mount/ #RaRaLinkup

6 thoughts on “I got the G.P.S.

Leave a Reply

