God Change Me….

 

Healing well, inside and out!

Healing outwardly and growing inwardly.

My last post Judging …was a difficult one to share. It’s so difficult to admit publicly an area in which you struggle. I was not prepared for the amazing feedback I received in the comments, on my FB page and in private messages. We are fodder for the enemy when we conceal our sin and suffer in silence. When we put a voice to our sin we take his power away and activate the power within us, the Holy Spirit, that guides us to change. When I put a voice to my sin I am reminded:

“No temptation has overtaken you except what is common to mankind. And God is faithful; he will not let you be tempted beyond what you can bear. But when you are tempted, he will also provide a way out.”                                     1 Corinthians 10:13

There is absolutely no new sin. If I have done it, someone else has too. We need never feel like we are alone. By confessing it to one another and before God we allow God to take our mess and make it our message. We help others to heal and grow with the help of the Holy Spirit that dwells in us as we are healing and growing at the same time.

So, now that we have shared and commiserated that we all have times when we judge, what can we do about it? Fall back on the old excuse, “Well, I’m human and I’m not perfect.” Perfect, no but progressing towards being better today then I was yesterday and looking forward to even better days tomorrow, yes.

The first step in eliminating a sin in our lives is to become aware of it. Then we need to enlist Gods help to change us.

“and Jesus said to them, ‘With man this is impossible but with God ALL things are possible.'” Matt 19:26

In and of ourselves we can’t change anything . We need God to guide us. When we ask God to change us, he makes a way. Since last week when I realized how nonchalantly I can judge others, when I catch myself doing it, I simply say to myself “God change me.” I want to see others the way Jesus does, sinners saved by his grace and mercy. At first I had to say this over and over and over but each day it gets better. I find myself filled with a little bit more joy and I am seeing others in a totally different light. The light of Christ.

Its been both humbling and awesome at the same time-humbling because no one wants to admit their sin. Awesome because God loves me so much that he patiently waits until I’m ready and then helps me grow. Hopefully, others are growing too by my sharing.

Oh, and my lip is healing very well!!

2 thoughts on “God Change Me….

Leave a Reply

