Day 3-We all have problems

Here is the next installment of my 31 Days of Writing Prompts Challenge

If you are anywhere near my age you probably remember those fateful words “Houston we have a problem” from the Apollo 13 crew. There were BIG problems but with a very large team and lots of prayers the problems were overcome and the three astronauts made it back down to earth safely.

We all have problems, I would rather call them challenges, some big and some everyday small ones. How they get resolved depends a lot on our thought life, perspective and team that works behind the scenes.

First of all I need to focus my eyes on the problem solver and not the problem.

Philippians 4:5-7 reminds me to:

“Let your reasonableness be known to everyone. The Lord is at hand; do not be anxious about anything, but in everything by prayer and supplication with thanksgiving let your requests be made known to God. And the peace of God, which surpasses all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.”

I need not be anxious about my circumstances because God is the team leader-he has everything under control and, even better yet, He knows the perfect solution to my circumstances. All that is asked is that I trust Him.

Easier said then done in some circumstances. I have at least one issue that I have been praying on and trusting God with for over 10 years. Can I be honest? Sometimes I get weary in the wait and that is where my prayer warrior friends come in. Like Aaron and Hur, when they held Moses arms up during battle (Exodus 17:9-12), I have precious women who lift up my circumstances when I get weary during the wait. My mom and sister, Amy, have been my greatest prayer warriors. I have many friends that stand in the gap, while I am waiting for answers to prayer and I also pray for their needs.

So what is one to do, in the wait, for the supreme problem solver to move?

Proverbs 3:5-6 gives me clear direction. It tells me to trust in the Lord with all my heart,
and do not lean on my own understanding. In all my ways acknowledge him,
and he will make straight my paths.

So as I wait on Him I trust Him, I don’t try to tell God how to answer my prayer, remind myself of who He is and He carries me through it all with His grace, mercy and love.

Read more of my blog posts and my writer friends here 31 Days of Writing Prompts Challenge

2 thoughts on “Day 3-We all have problems

Leave a comment